Attn: Newsdesks, Photodesks and Religious Affairs Correspondents


The Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors concludes Plenary Assembly

The Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors [PCPM] concluded its four day Plenary Assembly Sunday, with a renewed commitment to its mandate as an advisory body to the Holy Father for the protection of minors.

Members are grateful for the encouragement expressed by the Pope during a private audience on Thursday September 21. The PCPM welcomes the Holy Father’s strong words in support of ‘Zero Tolerance’ of abuse in the Church and above all his invitation to the Commission to continue on the journey of enculturation of safeguarding practices within the Church worldwide and in the Holy See.

For their part, Commission members thanked the Holy Father for the confidence and trust he has shown in their work and mission. The Holy Father was addressed on behalf of the Commission by members  Mr. Bill Kilgallon and Sr. Hermenegild Makoro.


The PCPM in Plenary Assembly

The Papal Audience came at the beginning of the PCPM fall Plenary Assembly.  In the meeting the members focused on three key areas: ensuring that the voice of people who have been abused informs the work of the Commission, guidelines for the protection of children, adolescents and vulnerable adults in local churches and programs of education and formation for safeguarding.

For the latest news on ongoing PCPM projects in healing and care for victims/survivors, their families and communities, in formation and education, in guideline and policy development and outreach to local churches, you can visit the PCPM website at:  


The PCPM: Working to Make the Church a Safe Home for All

First established in 2014, the PCPM has 15 active members drawn from all 6 continents.  The Commission’s specific task is to propose to the Holy Father the most opportune initiatives for protecting minors and vulnerable adults and to promote local responsibility in the particular Churches;  uniting their efforts to those of the Holy See, for the protection of all children and vulnerable adults.

Members taking part in the Assembly are: Cardinal Sean O'Malley, O.F.M. Cap., U.S.A., president; Bishop Luis Manuel Ali Herrera, Colombia; Catherine Bonnet, France; Gabriel Dy-Liacco, Philippines; Sheila Hollins, England; Bill Kilgallon, New Zealand; Sister Kayula Lesa, R.S.C., Zambia; Sister Hermenegild Makoro, C.P.S., South Africa; Kathleen McCormack, Australia; Msgr. Robert Oliver, U.S.A.; Hanna Suchocka, Poland; Krysten Winter-Green, U.S.A.; Rev. Humberto Miguel Yanez, S.J., Argentina and Rev. Hans Zollner, S.J., Germany.

For full biographies you can visit the PCPM website at:  

PCPM on twitter